Real Techniques brushes

I have been wanting to do a review of some of the Real Techniques brushes, so here it is.

I own 6 Real Techniques brushes. 4 of them from the core collection, the powder brush and the stippling brush.

I didn’t bring the stippling brush as the brush head (the whole thing) literally fell off the first time I washed it. So very disappointed by this brush:

stipplingbrush

I really like the rest of the brushes though. These are the ones I’ve got:

realtechniquesbrushes standing  realtechniquesbrushes lying

The first one is the powder brush. Mind you, it IS a really big brush. So it’s actually not good for application, but I just like using a big powder brush. And I’ll just use a smaller brush for areas around my nose and eyes.

The next 4 are from the core collection with the buffing brush, contour brush, pointed foundation brush and detailer brush. My favourite is the contouring brush – beside contouring, it’s also very good for applying blush. It’s small and pointy – so perfect for the purpose.

The buffing brush is also very good, but I actually prefer my Sigma F82 brush for setting my foundation. And I haven’t really been using the pointed foundation, nor the detailer brush yet. They look a little roughly made, but I’m sure they’re really good, but I just haven’t come to use them yet. Here are these two closed up from the front and from the side:

realtechniques foundationdetailer front  realtechniques foundationdetailer side

All the brushes are very, very soft. I’m glad I got them, and I want to try out the expert face brush as I’ve heard a lot good things about it. Another very important factor – the price. They are very affordable! The core collection for example, is 18$ for 4 brushes. The face brushes, around 10$, and the smaller brushes around 6$.

Would I recommend them? Yes. Because of the price and the softness. I would recommend getting the core collection.

They divide their brushes into sets, base(yellow/bronze ones), eyes(purple) and finish (pink). The new line is white, which are their duo fiber brushes. Here are all their brushes:

sets The sets

base Base

eyes Eyes

set Finish

For more information, visit their site: http://realtechniques.com/

Have you tried their brushes? What’s your experience with them?

 

6 comments

  1. If you get the chance, you should try out the expert face brush. That one (and one of the eye brushes, the detailer brush, I think) are the only Real Techniques brushes I’ve tried, but I definitely really like the expert face brush for buffing in foundation. When you mentioned that you prefer your Sigma F82 to the Real Techniques flat foundation brush, I was immediately thinking that you should try the expert face brush. I haven’t tried the Sigma one, but they appear to have a similar shape and construction.

    1. Thanks… I will get hold of it next time I make an online order. There are so many brands we don’t have in Hong Kong! I need to get hold of the Sigma flat kabuki one too. Can’t have too many brushes, right 😉

  2. You should try to contact Real Techniques. Maybe you just got a dud. I’m sure they’d be happy to replace anything that was defective, most companies do. I have the core collection and the starter kit and I love them 🙂

    1. Yeah… I was thinking that I could have done it too. I left the brush back at my home country, so it’s too late now. Thinking of getting the starter kit too 🙂

Leave a Reply

