Eyeshadow palettes real or “fake”. HELP!

I don’t know how much I’m contributing with this post, but I have been spending a lot of time on this lately, so I thought I wanted to share this with you. I have been looking for some palettes lately, and it has indeed been very confusing. Ok, so I started to search for Coastal Scents which you all surely know. After a more extensive search, I’ve found out that Coastal Scents and BH Cosmetics(and I think also Beauties Factory, Celia makeup, Manly) – are basically all the same???

Can I avoid my makeup to travel all around the world?

What I’ve found out, is that Coastal Scents and BH Cosmetics do something called white-labelling. Meaning that they all buy the products the same place and put their brands on it and market it as their own products. I believe that their products are made in China, and they buy them in Hong Kong. For those of you who don’t know – I live here! So I thought there must be a way for me to get the same products cheaper. I mean, it really is a little silly to buy Coastal Scents that is made in China, shipped to the other side of the world(US), and for me to pay 50USD shipping fee to have it sent “back” to me again in HK. Can I get it cheaper?

Ebay.com vs. ebay.com.hk

As alternatives for non- Hong Kong’ers, you can look for Celia makeup as a dube on the US ebay site. I would say that you can trust on this one, because I trust one of my favourite Youtube beauty lovers Judy. She has done a review of Celia makeup here.

But for me that lives in Hong Kong, I began to look for the palettes on the ebayHK page. Surely, there are so many palettes that are “no-named” and are sold for about half the price as the  Coastal Scents products. On top of that, most of the sellers ship for free. BUT I’m still thinking – is it safe? And would the quality be the same? Obviously it’s  hard for me to tell because I’ve never tried Coastal Scents or BH Cosmetics before. But then again – the sellers of these no-name palettes don’t claim to be something they’re not – so technically they’re not faking. And I know that the quality of Coastal Scents and BH Cosmetics are okay as they are American brands and must have gone through some kind of regulation test. Well, I think they look exactly the same.  The slight difference is only because of the lighting.

warm palette  28 neutral  78 shadow blush

When I google the topic

A lot, but yet not enough information came up. Some people argue that the ebay ones are okay as they’ve not experienced anything bad with the products. And then some other people would go on about how dangerous it can be to buy products that no brand represents. I started to go crazy when I kept searching for it.

Coastal Scents in Hong Kong

A third alternative is to buy the actual Coastal Scents in Hong Kong. Via their website, I see that it’s much more expensive than the palettes sold in the US. For example, the 28 Neutral Palette: on the US page the original price is 18,95USD(147,11HKD) and now reduced to 11,95USD(92,77HKD). On the HK page the palette costs 256HKD(32,98USD). See? This is what many foreign brands do in HK; they raise the prices sky high. So Coastal Scents is just another brand that does this. So I’m NOT buying Coastal Scents in HK, that’s for sure.

What to do

I still haven’t decided. On the one hand, I’m afraid that the ebayHK ones are not safe to use. But on the other hand, it is kind of silly to pay for double shipping plus profit to  the reseller. What do you think I should do? I would appreciate it if you guys would share your thoughts on this one.

12 comments

  1. Well, they definitely look like the same and I understand that you want to safe some money. I don’t know how much the no-name products costs. Maybe if it isn’t that much, you should give it a try? I don’t know.

    Otherwise the texture could be different and you don’t see that on the pictures. Or the no-named products just use the pictures of BH Cosmetics and in real the colors are slightly different?

    I don’t know what I would do. Definitely a hard decision. Sorry that I can’t help you on that. Haven’t used any palette yet, but I always wanted buy one.

    1. Thanks for sharing. I’m thinking of getting one just to try it out… starting on my arms to see if I react badly on them and to check the pigmentations. The no names palettes are sold for around and under 10USD for the 88 palettes. So really cheap!

      1. Get one and try it out. After that you can post your experience with it and let me know if you can recommend the no-named palettes. 😉

        And 10 dollars are not that much. Right. I think I would also give it a try and it’s the best way to start on your arms, you’re right about that.

  2. Maybe you could contact the companies and ask exactly what factory/distributor they come from and from there contact the factory/distributor and just verify that all palettes coming out of there have the same ingredients in them? It’s a bit more work but I don’t think that information should be confidential.

    1. I might do that but then I need to dig more into it to find the distributor. I’ve tried to google it, even in Chinese. But yeah.. maybe I can try to get hold of one of the sellers…

  3. Like you said , a huge umbrella company makes all these pallets and then packages the outside different for each company so they can sell it themselves. The product you would receive from any other seller than costal scents is real and safe to use as long as it’s the same pallet. Look up Crown Brushes or BH cosmetics, they sell the exact same pallets as well.
    XOXO
    Veronica

    1. Hi Veronica. Thanks for the feedback. I might actually also buy some of the brushes they sell and see if they’re any good. Cant wait to buy a palette and try it out.

      1. They are ok but don’t expect much from them, same with the pallets they do the job but they won’t be anything special but they are great for having a wide range of colors!
        XOXO
        Veronica

Leave a Reply

