Eyebrow pencils

The only makeup product I have to have, is the eyebrow pencil. My eyebrows are so scarce, so for me, it’s the most important beauty item. I know that many people are using powders(and wax combo kits), but I’ve just never really used it. I’ve tried it a few times with a matte dark brown eyeshadow and an eyebrow brush. I just didn’t found it very practical compared to my pencils. Beside, I don’t need the gel/wax-thing as I don’t really have enough eyebrow hair to make stay in place.

eyebrow pencils

I have acquired a few eyebrow pencils during the years. My first eyebrow pencil that I’ve really used is the one from Rimmel.

eyebrow pencil rimmel

It’s a great pencil and very affordable. However, you would need to be careful with it as it’s quite pigmented. I have mine in dark brown. The brush tends to collect dust though.

And then I kind of wanted to try the retractable ones, and ended up with the Revlon Colorstay eyebrow liner.

eyebrow pencil revlon

I would say that this one is the easiest one to work with. It’s pigmented enough, but allows you to go over and over again without over-drawing. I have mine in dark brown. The brush is fantastic as I like a stiffer brush for my eyebrows. One thing about this one is that there’s kind of a reddish tone to the brown. So I’m still considering whether to buy this one again. But it IS really a good product. The staying power is fantastic too.

And then I tried out the brow pencil from YSL Dessin Des Sourcils. in no. 5.

eyebrow pencil ysl

Other than it’s expensive, this is a really great eyebrow pencil. The pigmentation is good, the colour is good, the brush is nice and stiff. Still need to be little bit light handed though. But once you’ve found the “pressure-point”, this works wonderfully. This one is definitely one of my favourites. The good thing about a pencil is that it’s sturdy although you need to sharpen them often. A few of my retractable pens are broken. Think it’s because I dropped them on the floor.

Because of one of my favourtie youtubers Jen(frmheadtotoe) always used the eyebrowpencil from Lioele, I thought I wanted to try.

eyebrow pencil lioele

And since I just moved to Hong Kong where I actually can get hold of it – I thought why not. The price is low-end, the pigmentation is perfect, and it’s so easy to work with. But with this one, the brush is too soft. So I just use a brush from one of the other pencils. I accidentally broke it, though. I can still use it – I just push the stick back in the tube and have to be careful not to lose it.

Having all those pens that are dark brown, I’ve been wanting to try a new grey-based one. I had a grey-based from Makeup Forever ages ago, and actually enjoyed using beside it beside it being too pigmented.

eyebrow pencil soothe

So when I saw one from the brand Soothe for a buck, I thought I could give it a try. Unfortunately, I don’t like it. The first thing I noticed is that it smells really bad, and it’s too pigmented so I had to be really light-handed, and it budges and smudges. But then again, it costed near nothing, so at least I don’t feel ripped off.

My last eyebrow pencil I’ve bought is one from Etude House.

eyebrow etude house

The look of it is a lot like the Lioele. They both have a flat stick. The brush is nice, and pigmentation is nice. It’s just too creamy – not stiff enough.

So to conclude, I really like the YSL one but would be hesitant to buy it again because of the price. And as long as I’m in Asia, I would repurchase the Lioele one. But when I get back to Europe, I think I’ll stick to the Rimmel one.

I’m also aiming to try out some of the brow powder products. I’ve heard many good comments about the elf eyebrow kit. Considering the low price, I might give it a try – and maybe also buy some of the brow stencils. Have never tried to use one before.

What are your favourite brow products?

Maria xoxo

16 comments

  1. Great review! I use Benefit Brow Zing and really like it. Some days I use the way and other days I don’t. They key to brow powder is a lot of patience and a good brow brush. I use MAC 212 brush. It’s perfect for filling in your eyebrows with powder.

    1. Thanks for the tips. I’ve heard about the benefit one also. might need to try harder with the powders and see if I can achieve better results than the pencils 🙂

    1. I just did a quick google. The hourglass one looks much like the Korean ones I’ve got and seems very pricey. The Urban Decay one though, looks really interesting. The packaging is so cute! Thanks for the tips. So nice to get some recommendations for which ones I could try next

  2. I need petroleum jelly to hold my brows in place more than anything. =/ My favourite are the brow pencils from NYX, I find they work really well.

    1. Haha.. unfortunately I don’t have that problem. I would wish I had full and thick eyebrows! It just looks kind of silly for me to draw mine too thick as I only have a few hair poking out haha… Thanks, I will take a look at the NYX pencil. And can see that there are 8 shades as well. Well done NYX! 😉

    1. I’m actually starting to think that I might achieve more desirable results with powders. I might need to start practising. Any good eyebrow brush you can recommend? And for the powder, any matte eye shadow will do right?

      1. I’ve always thought powder looks more natural to me, just remember less is more! Um I use a super random Mary Kay angled eyeliner brush but any thin, flat brush will work, though angled I think is better. And yes just make sure it’s very cool toned something like MAC expresso, charcoal brown, or copperplate. If it’s too warm toned it’ll look really off! But just be warned powders don’t last as long as pencils so you might want to get either a clear brow gel or a clear mascara to make it last more like you are used to.
        XOXO
        Veronica

  3. Great post and very helpful! I know what you mean as for me doing my brows in number 1 on the list – they are too thin and too light (naturally), so I feel like I need to work on them daily 😉

    I have the same Rimmel one in the same shade in my handbag 😉

Leave a Reply

