Midnight blue smokey eyes

Usually, I like lighter and fresher eye looks…. because it’s so easy, and as much as I love makeup – most days I’m lazy with it. So I don’t do this kind of darker look very often, but this is the look I did yesterday:

Camera 360

Close up on the eyes:

2013-08-08 16.59.11-1

2013-08-08 16.59.22-1  2013-08-08 16.59.36-1

For the eyes, I was using:

– Urban Decay primer potion (priming the eyes can make a huge difference)

– A light colour as base

– The Storm palette:

IMG_4936

I applied the midnight blue colour(1) on my lid, making sure not to bring it up too much. I kept layering this colour a few times. And then I smudged it up slightly to avoid any harsh line. I contoured with the black shade(2), making sure to apply it very lightly as I only want a hint of darker colour on the outer corner. Blend, blend, blend, blend. I then used a lighter shade as a transition colour(3) and applied it on the rest of the lids. I then used a light shimmery champagne colour(4) and lightly dabbed it on the browbone, and on the inner corners of my eyes – making sure to blend it properly to avoid the inner corners screaming shimmer. But it was a very important step in order to brighten up the eyes because this is a darker look. I finished off by smudging on a darker brown colour on the lower lashline, just to connect with the rest of the eyes.

I wanted a subtle look. So I didn’t want to put on a heavy eyeliner. I used a soft, black pencil liner I can smudge out – with Revlon colorstay black pencil liner. This liner is so creamy and has good staying power – just make sure to go over it/smudge it with a Q-tip. I only gave the liner a tiny lift without winging it as such. As I had a night out, I avoided to put on any dark/black liner/mascara under my eyes – black smudge is the last thing I wanted last night! So I kept it clean with only the smudged dark brown colour. I of course, topped the whole look off by curling my lashes with my beloved Shiseido eyelash curler and mascara. I used Maybelline Falsies and Maybelline Volum Express Rocket for even bigger lashes.

For the rest, I was wearing:

– Estee Lauder Futurist in #66. This is a sample I got from the counter. I’m quite satisfied with the colour match.

– Revlon Colorstay concealer in medium/deep

– Milani multitasker powder in 05 Tan

– Lioele eyebrow pencil in 02

– NYX powder blush in Dusty Rose

– Revlon Super Lustrous lipstick in 423 Pink Velvet – for a very pretty rosie tint on my lips and good staying power by doing this:

tip: I put on a generous coat, and massaged it in my lips, and then I blotted the rest off with a tissue until I’m left with a tint. It can look rather dry, so I topped it off with:

– Revlon Super Lustrous lipgloss in 080 Cherries in the glow

I forgot to top the whole look off with:

Skindinavia setting spray – I realised I forgot when I was out in the heat!!!

Have a great weekend, everyone 😀

Maria xoxo

11 comments

  1. Love this look, I think i might try this tomorrow for date night.

    I just posted my top 10 fall make up must haves and i am also giving away a $25 sephora gift card as soon as a i hit 100 subbies. Just incase you are interesting.

    http://squeeshythings.wordpress.com

    But seriously, love the look.

    Jessi

    1. Thank you so much, sweetie. So so glad that you are taking on the idea of this look. It’s some great products you’ve got on your post. Unfortunately, I can’t enter the giveaway as Sephora doesn’t ship internationally 😦

Leave a Reply

