Michael Todd review

I have had the Michael Todd products for a while now, so now I feel like I can talk about them. I bought the whole set almost 3 months ago. Everything went perfect, and the Michael Todd customer service was just wonderful. You can read about my experience here. Now, in this post, I wanna do a review of the products themselves.

My skin has been really bad since I arrived Hong Kong. I think it’s the air and definitely the stress! Unfortunately, I must say that the Michael Todd products aren’t doing a whole lot for me.

A lineup of the products:

2013-09-26 16.10.54

First, we have the Honey and oat cleanser: maybe it’s just me, but it doesn’t smell like honey nor oat, but more like the yellow gummy bear. I’m not a fan of the smell, but it has been working fine. It does the job; you can even use it for removing makeup. Although if you’re wearing foundation, I would recommend to double-cleanse. I clean my face with my Bioderma Sebium H2O first – then wash my face. So no complaints about this product, but I don’t feel a big difference either. I’m thinking of going back to my Ciracle face cleanser. It’s a Korean brand, and I used it when I broke out (more like acne) last year, and that one really helped me. I would use this one up first though. I hate wasting 🙂

IMG_5891

The second tube was a free sample, and funny enough, it’s my favourite of the bunch. It’s the pumpkin mask. It seriously both smells and looks like pumpkin! It really tingles when you put it on as it’s a cleansing mask. My face feels so nice and clean after use. You only need to use this every 1-2 week.

IMG_5892

When I got this set, my face was kind of dry, so I got the avocado and mango mask. But it started to get more on the oily side again, and haven’t really been using it. It is very creamy, and smells more like mango. Think this will be good for a harsh winter. And also, the size is definitely generous.

IMG_5893

I didn’t take a picture of The Blue and algae toner as it’s just a clear liquid. I still can’t figure whether I like the smell or not. It smells a little like spa, but quite strong. I don’t think that this has done a lot for me, but I’ll just use it up.

Next is the concentrated C serum. I have been trying to use a few serums here and there. But actually, the only serum I have ever seen a difference on me is the Clinique Even better clinical dark spot corrector. But I stopped after one tube as I couldn’t afford it. And also the Biotherm Source Therapy 7 (sample size,  so couldn’t really judge it) just felt like heaven putting it on! Anyway, currently, I’m just using this one without a moisturiser. The texture is thicker, and smells like citrus. It’s ok, I’m actually not sure whether this is breaking me out.

IMG_5894

The Intensive eye cream is also very average in my opinion. I like that it comes in a tube with pump, but the lid doesn’t hold on to the bottle. I’m also using this up, and will either continue my hunt or go back the best one I’ve tried so far which is the Clinique Even better eye cream.

IMG_5895

The last one is the Citrus cream moisturiser. Actually I think this one breaks me out. Every time I give it a go, I get so many pimples or I just choose a bad time of the month to retry this the last few times. Maybe I’m just not good with the vitamin C products? A little goes a long long way. It’s a little sticky in texture. It takes a long time to sink into the skin. I wouldn’t recommend this for day time, maybe more as a night cream.

IMG_5896

To sum up: I hate to say it. But Michael Todd just didn’t really do it for me. I might get the pumpkin mask though, and maybe even their Charcoal face wash as I’ve heard good things about that one. But for now, I still need to hunt for better products for my skin.

Maria xoxo

6 comments

  1. I like the honey oat cleanser. It really cleanses all the makeup off your skin! And the pumpkin mask is awesome & it’s tingly because it contains glycolic acid which resurfaces the skin.

Leave a Reply

