Urban Decay Vice2 review and swatches

Better late than never! Here is my review and swatches of my Urban Decay Vice 2 palette.

IMG_6286  IMG_6287

General verdict

This was my first Urban Decay palette ever! I got it on BeautyBay on sale including shipping (paid 60USD). So I thought that it was my chance to finally try an Urban Decay palette without paying more than what it costs in the stores in the States!

I had high expectations – really high. Because of that, I must say I got a little disappointed mostly because of the pigmentation. Generally, I found that I have to keep applying several layers to get the desired result. When swatching with the fingers directly from the pans, they’re great. But when I use them in action on my lids, the shadows are a little disappointing. Of course, my opinion of the shadows varies from shade to shade.

I love the packaging though. It looks and feels very luxurious, and with a huge mirror. It opens slowly when the open button is pushed which I think is a very nice feature.

IMG_6290  IMG_6291

The colours are very versatile. There are more shimmery/glittery shades (only 3 completely matte shades), but that doesn’t bother me a lot. There are neutrals as well as some popping colours. A very interesting and unique combination which I love about this palette.

Swatches and review of each shade

IMG_6289

The white line you see is NYX Jumbo pencil in Milk.

First row:

1

SMOKEOUT: Smokeout is the “matte” black shade in this palette. It is not complete matte, but the reddish shimmers are barely visible. A very intense black I use a lot when I’m doing heavier looks.

LOVESICK: Lovesick is a black shade with silver shimmers. I think it lacks a little pigmentation. But could be a good supplement when a little of black and glitter is wanted.

SHELLSHOCK: This silver is the most glittery of the bunch. Good for a going-out looks when a pop of shimmer is needed. I am very satisfied with the pigmentation of this shade.

COAX: A shimmery pink. The shadow is buttery, and nice for a subtle pinky look.

X-RATED: A matte pink shade. I am disappointed with this one as it’s a little chalky. I would like it to be more pigmented and buttery.

Second row:

2

POISON: Dark grey with a little shimmer. This one is good when I want a black-ish colour without going too intense. But as you can see on the picture, it is not really pigmented unless a primer is worn.

STASH: A muddy green shimmery colour. This is not the most catchy shade of the palette, but it actually goes really beautifully on the skin. It is buttery and nicely pigmented.

STRIKE: A nice golden shade. Very good shadow with a good pigmentation and texture. This kind of gold is not what I usually would grab for when I do a look though. I need to experiment more with this shade!

MADNESS: A dark turquoise-ish shimmery shade. It is quite sheer, and I would like it to be more intense. I also have a little difficulty with using this kind of colour.

PRANK: One of the more special shades. It’s a dark blue with green shimmers. Not a shade for a neutral day time look. The swatch actually looks worse for what it is. I like to use this under the eyes for an intense black look. It looks really nice when the light catches the green shimmers.

Third row:

3

DERAILED: A shimmery taupe shade. This is one of my favourites of the palette. I like taupe, and this one is nicely pigmented and buttery. Sometimes, I just put this one on, and then I’m ready to go.

BETRAYAL: A light shimmery lilac shade that is very sheer in my opinion. So this would actually work as a funky highlighter when doing a fun look. I haven’t really been experimenting with this shade.

VOODOO: A dark shimmery purple. I have been using this a lot for a night-out look. It takes quite a few applications to get the result I want. So not the best texture to work with, but a very pretty shade I like a lot.

DAMAGED: This shimmery green looks lighter in the pan, and darker on the skin. I was surprised when I swatched it on as I really really love this shade of green. The pigmentation and texture is good with this one.

RADAR: I love my browns. There are 3 browns in this palette. Radar is the more glittery one of the bunch and very pigmented. It can be a little too much to be worn for a neutral day time look for me, but absolutely beautiful for an evening look.

Fourth row:

4

REWIND: This is the light matte brown shade of the palette. It looks a little shabby on the swatch, but is actually very handy. For a dark look, this can be used as a nice transition colour, and for a day-time look, this can be used as a contour! It is very good in this palette, I wouldn’t run out and buy a single of it.

AMBUSH: One of my favourites in this palette. It’s brown, it’s pigmented and buttery and it’s shimmery. Very good when I only have time to smack on one colour on my lids.

HABIT: A matte, light shade good for highlighting. The pigmentation and texture is mediocre.

TOXIC: A shimmery rosy/coral shade. Quite unique, in my opinion. This shade is very good for a natural look. For some reason, this is not the shade I grab for very often. You can get a better colour payoff when used with a primer, and nice sheer layer wihtout a primer.

DOPE: A very light slightly shimmery shade I like to use as a highlighter. I especially like to use this one for my inner corners.

The brushes

There is a two-ended brush coming with this palette. I think that it’s nice they have included a kind of blending brush instead of just the regular sponges you get with most palettes. They are nice but not great in my opinion.

Summing up

My favourite unique colours from the palette are Prank, Stash, Damaged and Voodoo. The neutrals I love are Derailed, Radar and Ambush. When using this palette, I almost always use Rewind and Habit as they are the matte contouring/highlighting shades.

It is a very interesting palette, and if you can afford to splurge, I think it is worth a try. But I don’t think a poor student should save up the hard-earned money to get this thing as there are some just as good or even better shadows out there at a lower price. Personally, I have a few NYX Singles I think are fantastic. They are great if you don’t have a lot of cash as they have a huge selection of shades, the quality is superb, and you can buy the specific shades you want for a very low price.

So… One of the reasons I am a little disappointed is exactly because I am that poor student. It was a big… huge deal for me to get this thing. I will make good use of this palette, and it will at least decorate my place a little for the pretty packaging it has 🙂

A few looks with Vice 2… so far

Using COAX only

The main colour is Voodoo. And then Smokeout to contour, and Prank under the eyes.

Derailed as main colour. Using Smokeout as contour and Shellshock as inner corner highlight. Click for more pictures

Aaand…

I thought I would quickly try on a few more shades, take some quick pictures and put them up before I post. So the above looks are something I did a while ago. The following are very fresh/now – and I brought my camera for high quality pictures – so EXCUSE me for that horrible pimple haha…. No photoshop, no filter. Just the eyeshadows and my pimples!

Worn with Milani Eye Primer. Dope as highlighter on the inner corners.

Derailed

Lid: Derailed. Under eyes: Betrayal

Ambush

Lid: Ambush. Under eyes: Damaged

Okay… I’m not at home, and I forgot my remover. I’ll just go with my 2 different eyes the rest of today 😀

Me with 2 different eyes

I’m SO happy I finally have the time to do this post, and I hope you have enjoyed  and somehow found it useful. I am working on a post about my skincare and some products and thoughts on some brands. Hope I can have it up soon.

Maria xoxo

5 comments

  1. This was a great post! One thing I will say is that UD shadows really work best with the primer potion underneath, especially the glittery shades. So maybe try them wight he primer?
    XOXO
    Veronica
    Ps. New Post!

Leave a Reply

