Micellar waters

Hey girls….

Today, I’m going to talk about micellar waters… For those of you that don’t know what it is, I’ll shortly explain first; It is a makeup remover. It is in a liquid form. Just pour it on a cotton pad, and wipe your makeup off. Micellar waters are especially popular among makeup artists as they can quickly remove makeup between looks.

There is just one thing I want to point out: many people use this as a remover and cleanser in one. I always go for a DOUBLE-CLEANSE! So I use the micellar water to remove the first layer of the makeup, and then I wash my face with a face cleanser. In my opinion, this hype has gone a little wild. Whilst those brands claim that their micellar waters have a 3 in 1 function (remove makeup, cleanse and add moisture), I do not believe in such a wonder product – that this one bottle can replace remover, cleanser, toner, and moisturiser.

Micellar waters have become very popular the last few years, and still more brands come out with their version of it. The first one that got the big breakthrough is the Bioderma ones. They have a few versions for sensitive (clear bottle with pink lid) / combination or oily (blue bottle with green lid) skin. The blue bottle is the only one I have tried. I have become extremely fond of the idea of a micellar water, and I will definitely keep using one. However, I seek for cheaper alternatives. So I did a quick google, and want to share my thoughts with you guys.

  • For the drugstore alternatives, I know that Nivea, Garnier and L’Oreal all have a micellar water.
  • For the classical French pharma brands; Vichy, La Roche Posay and Avène make them.
  • Vogue also recommends other high end ones such as TAAJ, Decléor, Dior, Darphin, REN etc.. See their top 10 here.

As my evening routine doesn’t 100% rely on this one product, I am more liable to go for a cheaper alternative. I am running low, hence this post about my considerations for a new one. Right now, the Nivea one appeals to me as it is free of parabens and parfume. The other drugstore micellar waters have also received good reviews.

What do you use to remove your makeup and clean your face with in the evening?

Have a wonderful weekend.

Maria xoxo

10 comments

  1. Great post!

    I use the Garnier Micellar water followed by their toner or sometimes my body shop toner (seaweed one) I used to use Simple foam cleaner but I heard it’s bad for your skin so bought these instead! xxx

  2. I’ve always wanted to try the Bioderma one but right now I use The Body Shop’s tea tree makeup remover and cleanse my face with VMV facial cleanser for oily skin. Great post!

  3. I use these in almost the exact same way as you, as an initial makeup remover before I go in there and do a proper cleanse, my personal favorite is the pink Bioderma and the Vichy, simply because I can easily get it at the drugstore, whereas the Bioderma I have to order online.
    XOXO
    Veronica
    Ps. New Post!

    1. I could easily find bioderma in hong kong for a cheap price. But haven’t really seen it here in holland. However, the Nivea and garnier one is widely available. That’s why I’m eyeing Nivea 🙂

Leave a Reply

