Eco Friendly Living eye makeup remover

I always use waterproof mascara, so a good eye makeup remover is very important for me. I swear by the L’Oreal Gentle Waterproof Eye Makeup Remover – I have been using it for more than 10 years! However, sometimes I get curious to try out other eye makeup removers and see how they work out. I have tried an Elizabeth Arden one, and currently bought the one from Nivea, but today I’m reviewing the Eco Friendly Living eye makeup remover.

ecofriendlyliving

What attracted me to this product was that the ingredients are all-natural and organic. It’s just a mixture of oils – and I thought oil is what I need to remove waterproof makeup anyway. I bought it on etsy! Unfortunately this thing hasn’t worked very well for me. It’s just very… oily… and I’m not used to the consistency – I get oil everywhere, and it gets on my contacts so that’s defo not good. Besides, it is not removing my waterproof eye makeup as effectively as the L’Oreal one… I usually pour my remover on a cotton pad, put it on my eye for a few seconds, and then start pat the makeup off.

The Eco Friendly Living remover is just not working well for me, so instead of keeping it in the drawer or chuck it out – I use it for when I wash my brushes. It is very effective to wash brushes with an oil as it will get rid of the stubborn makeup (especially foundation) in the brushes. I let the brushes soak in a mixture of this remover, some water and a little bit of shampoo. And then I wash them again with shampoo to get rid of all the oil. You can use this tip for any other makeup removing products that you regret buying..

What is your favourite eye makeup remover?

Maria xoxo

9 comments

  1. That’s a great tip! My favorite is hands-down, Bioderma’s Sensibio H20. I’ve reviewed and raved about so many times—it’s my ultimate makeup remover hero!

  2. I swear by La Roche Posay “Respectissime” I’ve been using it for a few years now.

    It’s shame that the one you bought isnt good, but at least you found a good use for it! I heard about using oils to wash brushes with before and I think I read that you can use vinegar to rinse off the oil with but im not 100% sure. Steph x

    1. I think I’m just gonna go back to my L’Oreal for now because of my tight budget. But will defo try out La Roche Posay one day then because I really like French pharma brands with less harmful chemicals… Will try to see if I can use up the Nivea one first. But when I tried it last time, it kind of stung my eyes. I might give it a fail also 😦 I really want that Sigma brush glove though… it seems so cool!. But shipping from Sigma is too too expensive!

      1. Hmm… maybe not… seems like I gotta run out to buy the Loreal one again then. You haven’t heard of the Sigma glove for washing brushes? It’s like a genius idea especially if you have many brushes to wash every week 🙂

      2. haha you can’t hear of all products anyway. But I haven’t had the heart to spend 35$ on a rubber glove and 30+$ on shipping!!!! If I lived in the States, I would have done it…

Leave a Reply

