L’Oreal True Match Foundation review

I used the L’Oreal’s True match foundation like 10 odd years ago, and I’ve recently purchased it. I remember that I stopped using it because in the end of the day, I never had any foundation left on my face. But that’s defo not the case any more with the new formula.

IMG_6327

Texture and finish

After all those years, of course, they have changed the formula…. to the better… Oh my…. When I applied it for the first time, I was overwhelmed by how soft and blendable it is. I only need one pump to cover my whole face (and a little left for the areas that need a little extra), and I just use my fingers to apply. Usually, I always powder my face, but I haven’t done it with this one. The True Match leaves a semi-matte finish meaning that it would be good for oily/oily-combination skin. So be careful if you have dry skin!

Wearing the L’Oreal True Match foundation in shade N6 on the right side of my face. Excuse me for the horrible brows!

Coverage

I would say that it’s gives a medium coverage. It looks very light on my face because I applied a very thin layer. Why cover everything up now that my acne scars are fading? You can easily build it up. I dab on more around my nose, under my eyes, and the cheek area where I have many blemishes. It works really well, especially when you don’t have a whole lot of time in the morning to fumble around with concealers and all that.

Shades

IMG_6328

As you probably know, the True Match line has a myriad of shades! But bare in mind that as soon as you’re outside of the States, there are usually only a few to choose from. I ended up with the N6. I’d wish I could have chosen the W6 though. “N” stands for neutral and “W” for warm. I have yellow-toned skin, so I usually go for the “W”‘s.

It sounds funny, but when I apply the N6 to my face, it doesn’t look quite yellow enough. But when I put it on my hand, it seems very yellow.

I haven’t been at the MAC counter to check my shade for a long time, but I think I’m down to an NC 35 or 37 – just for comparison.

Summary

I love it! It feels super nice and light on the skin. I only spend a few secs to apply it with my fingers, and the coverage is really good. I want to try out the W6 to see whether that one would be too yellow for me though.

As for the price, I bought it on sale for around 11€. I would say that this foundation is super affordable, and totally worth the price!

Have you tried this foundation before? Which shade do you use and what MAC shade are you?

Maria xoxo

 

9 comments

  1. I’ve used (and love) L’Oreal’s True Match Lumi. It’s probably not best for oily skin but I think because the weather is dryer here, my combo skin turned normal and I can use it without any problems. My color is NC25 (NC30 in the summer) and I think I got W3. I know what you mean about the warm vs neutral thing; I got matched to a neutral Guerlain foundation which is nice but I think the warm color would have matched better.

    1. Yea it’s always difficult finding the right shade especially that the stores don’t have a wide variety and I have to buy online as an alternative…

Leave a Reply

