When to chuck out your mascaras

Time flies by. I haven’t been blogging for months. An update post will hopefully be coming up soon! I have been burning up with topics and products I want to share with you but simply haven’t had the time.

Today, we are going to talk about mascaras. I have never believed in buying expensive mascaras, as I find the cheap ones are working just fine. I especially love Maybelline’s mascaras. My favourite is The Falsies, and I have been using The Rocket Volum Express every day lately. I mean, they have been lasting me for a long while – too long maybe. I keep using them, thinking that they will dry out soon, but nope, they are still good to use – or are they?

The rule of thumb with mascaras is: You have to chuck them out after 3 months! I don’t remember where I read it, but after 3 months, small crawlies will begin to grow, and it’s really not nice to put that not-so-clean mascara wand so close to your eyes. That’s also why it’s not a good idea to have too many mascaras in use at the same time.

I just opened my Maybelline the Hyper Curl Volum Express. It looks really natural, but still gives my lashes some volume. I get a kind of flaring effect opposed to the more clumpy Rocket – though I really get some serious volume with it. I’m not too sure about the staying power of Hyper Curl yet (I use the waterproof one). I might do a review of it later.

It’s heartbreaking, but I’m letting go. Goodbye, my beloved Falsies, Rocket, and Urban Decay Cannonball…

How long do you hold on to your mascaras?

Maria xoxo

9 comments

  1. I apply like 10000+ layers so my mascaras doesn’t last more than 3 month usually. 3 month is for good mascara, for maybelline -1 or 1,5 and I need new:D I think I use too much of mascara:D

  2. A great reminder to throw away expired makeup. I needed that for today. I guess my go-to one is the Covergirl Lash Blast mascara, but the Hyper Curl one seems to deliver well results. Might give it a go at my next drugstore haul 🙂 – Lena

    Felinecreatures.com

    1. Yea it’s really hard to throw makeup out. Besides mascara, usually I just throw out makeup when it starts to smell. I disinfect my stuff once in a while to prolong their shelf life 🙂 thanks for reading and commenting

Leave a comment